A Brief History of the Lakers

The Lakers, a professional basketball team, came into existence in 1948. At the time, they were the Minneapolis Lakers and played their home games in Minnesota, which lies in the Great Lakes region, thus explaining the team's name.

After playing in Minneapolis for twelve seasons, the Lakers moved their franchise to Los Angeles in 1960. The 2020-21 season will be their 61st in Southern California.

During their 72-year history, the Lakers have won seventeen championships--five in Minneapolis and twelve in Los Angeles.

A list of the championship years:


(Los Angeles)
Go back to Jarrod's Page